Bakery, Breakfast, Coffee Shop, Italian

Buon Giorno Coffee- Fort Worth, TX

Coffee shops are pretty common, I mean there’s practically a Starbucks on every corner, but the newest craze has been ‘hipster coffee shops’. Micro roasteries, as some call themselves, are the biggest thing since cupcake shops. Everyone wants to get a handcrafted mocha with a cool leaf design and Instagram it with their favorite filter. Coincidentally, I fall under this category and put it to use at Buon Giorno Coffee.

Right in downtown Fort Worth, just off Henderson Street near Lancaster Ave, sits Buon Giorno Coffee. It’s tucked back a bit, you would have to had google coffee shops to be able to find it most likely. It’s a smaller little place, with little parking in front leaving street parking to be the alternative. It’s worth finding a spot though. 

When you walk in, it’s like other coffee shops in Fort Worth (Brewed, Avoca Coffee Roasters). Very hipster and quaint, delicious pastries right out front in the case, classical music quietly playing in the background, but unlike the other ones Buon Giorno, like its name, attempts to take your taste buds to Italy. Although it doesn’t necessarily feel like Italia, you’ll have to read on to see if it tastes like Italia! This being my first time, I got not only a handcrafted beverage, but a delicious looking and recommended brioche. The man at the counter was very nice and told me his favorites and the shops most noteworthy pastries, he knew his stuff so don’t be afraid to ask them what they suggest!

I ordered the Menta Mocha, or mint dark chocolate coffee. It was quite delicious, what I can remember from my trips to Italy is that the flavors are bold yet subtle. This mocha was just that, the peppermint didn’t overpower the bold mocha taste, subtle and delicious. And naturally I got myself a heart shaped design, no leaves this time.  

 
As recommended, I ordered the sausage and cheese brioche. I honestly half expected something like the savory pastries at Starbucks…I was 80% correct. The brioche itself was delicious, the pastry was well baked. The sausage was quite tasty, too. The reason for my review is more the construction and lack of cheese with which the name describes. The little cheese inside was smothered on the side and you really didn’t get much. There was a lot of empty space inside the brioche. Each individual ingredient was delicious though, I would certainly order it again. I mean, it’s hard to resist a well baked brioche!  

 
Overall, I enjoyed everything about Buon Giorno, from the guy who helped me decide to the guy who cleared my dishes. I would grab Harry Potter and make the drive out there to sit and relax any day, definitely venture and try something new, and experience a different Italian-esqe coffee, each and every time. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

