American, Burgers, Fort Worth, Uncategorized

Brewed- Fort Worth, TX

Brewed has quickly become one of the best restaurants in Fort Worth, best known for their brunch. I’ve had brunch plenty of times (see previous Brewed post), but they recently introduced a new dinner menu. Intrigued, a friend and I decided to try it out, featuring dishes with a twist and popular classics. 

Knowing how crazy Brewed can be, I called thirty minutes ahead to get my name on the list. Although it was a Tuesday night, at night Brewed is a gastropub featuring Texas on Tap, local Texan beers, so who would have guessed it would end up being a serene evening! We walked in and it was a glorious sight, calm and peaceful. It was refreshing to see the popular restaurant without a line out the door. 


I’ve always loved the atmosphere of Brewed. Hipster and chic, the decor is something of a British flat almost. Fun posters with local information and comfy sofas and chairs make an ambiance of tranquility. 


With their notable Texas on Tap, I ordered the Austin Eastciders Pineapple Cider from Austin, TX. When it came it certainly had a bright color to it and I was expecting a pineapple taste, but it didn’t come! It was a refreshing cider that had a hint of pineapple, but nothing strong. From the photo it looks quite fizzy too, but it wasn’t. It was cool and refreshing and tasted of fall. 


Now on to the food! We started with The Play on Wings, fried cauliflower bites served with housemade buffalo sauce, blue cheese dressing, celery and carrot sticks. The buffalo sauce certainly tasted homemade and it had quite a kick to it! With the dressing it was a great combination with the cauliflower bites. The dressing must have had a ranch base, it didn’t have an overly strong blue cheese taste which was great, it was very delicious. The cauliflower was amazing, I think the best thing I’ve had at Brewed, period. They were fried almost like a Chinese wonton or Korean fried. The cauliflower was cooked perfectly, soft but not chewy. They were a great texture and the fry was spot on. I could have the appetizer as my meal and be completely satisfied. 

As my entree I chose the fan favorite Brewed burger. Everyone always seems to talk about their burgers whenever I ask someone who has been for dinner, so it was time to weigh in. Wow, it’s certainly an amazing burger. With Veldhuizen Farm cheddar, house pickles, and mustard cream on a sweet challah bun, it’s hard not to go wrong. The burger was cooked perfectly, the pickles were extraordinary and tasted homemade, and the mustard cream was delectable. My only complaint would be that the bun was a little too burnt for my taste. I really like the idea of a bit of a charred bun, but it was just a tad too much. A smidgen less time and it would’ve been fantastic, giving extra flavor to each bite. 

Served with the burger is your choice of the duck fat fries or sweet potato fries. I love judging different restaurants sweet potato fries, I find they are always different when it comes to seasonings and the way they are cooked. These sweet potato fries were awesome. They were soft, which I love a good crispy fry, but the softness was suitable and still scrumptious. I don’t know what they did to the salt topped on them, but it didn’t seem to taste like regular salt, it was so much better. Perhaps it’s smoked salt, or seasoned a second way to bring an extra flavoring to them, I honestly couldn’t put my finger on it, but they were delicious and make my list of favorite sweet potato fries. 

Unfortunately I cannot comment on dessert (with Melt down the street it was hard to resist their comeback flavor Cheater, Cheater Pumpkin Eater) , but I know from word of mouth the Ricotta Fritters are a big fan favorite! 

Overall, the dinner experience at Brewed was lovely, which was a pleasant surprise. Not because the service is bad or the food isn’t good, but because it’s usually flooded with people anxious to enjoy the atmosphere and amazing food. The updated menu is fantastic, full of delicious choices for everyone. If you need a pick me up after a long Tuesday, Brewed would make a great place to meet up with friends or catch up on work. The coffee is still delicious and the staff is always friendly. Brewed will always be on my list of go to restaurants in Fort Worth, be sure to add it to your list, too!

Standard

Leave a Reply

