Dallas, Ethnic, Thai, Uncategorized

Crushcraft Thai Street Eats- Dallas, TX

Have you ever looked at your TV guide, seen a show like “Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives” and flipped it on to see Guy Fieri in your town? You’re probably thinking one of two things: he’s at one my favorite places or he’s at a place I’m going to have to try. Well, Crushcraft Thai applies to both responses. Either you’ve been a bunch of times or you had never heard of it. In the case of today’s blog, it was my first time. “This…is Crushcraft.” Lets dive in!

Guy Fieri really liked this place, praising it and saying he would return whenever he’s in Dallas. I can totally see why, from the location and interior to the food, Crushcraft is producing some great stuff. Fast, flavorful, punch in your face Thai classics located right in the heart of Uptown Dallas, you can’t beat that. In a small strip of other cool looking restaurants (will have to get back to this area for some food/bar hopping) Crushcraft is right in the middle of it all. They are open late (Three in the morning Friday and Saturday) catering to that late, drunk, “I need food to absorb the alcohol crowd”. Never would have thought of Thai to do that trick, but how have I not thought of that? Good on you Crushcraft. 

The interior is really cool, replicating a street market in Thailand. Colorful strips of fabric encircle the main dining area, a swirling tunnel of light and happiness. Boxes along the walls also create that street market feel, making it a tad more authentic when it comes to the overall look and vibe. They have plenty of seating from the main dining area to the front having some tables. Certainly late night group friendly as well as intimidate date night friendly. 

The menu is really classic with the Thai ingredients and flavors. You see the menu as soon as you walk in and you look it over and are unsure what to get. It all looks so good, but you know nothing will be bad. Everything is reasonably priced too, especially for the quality. I personally had to take Guy Fieri’s advice and try the classic Thai drunken noodles (phat ke mao).

The kitchen is firing food as fast as a hot knife cutting through butter. I swear it took no more than five minutes until I heard my name being called for my food. Seeing the noodles made my heart leap, it was colorful with the red of the tomatoes popping out and bright greens catching my eye. The aromas wafting up into my senses made my mouth water, my taste buds preparing for the spicy goodness. Concocted with chicken, the classic wide rice noodles, fresh basil, bell peppers, onions, tomatoes, and chilies this drunken noodle was possibly the best I’ve had. The flavors came through strongly, but not overpowering. They all harmoniously complicated each other sending my senses into happiness. Each element was cooked perfectly, the chicken being juicy and tomatoes bursting in your mouth. With a kick of spice, it wasn’t “tongue on fire” spicy just the perfect amount (they also have samplings of different Thai sauces you can grab so if you want super spicy you can make it that way). Guy Fieri knew what he was talking about and I’m glad I took his advice and chose this dish. Another notable dish is the green curry, a little more spicy and and some different flavor profiles. The jasmine rice was a little creamy making it melt in my mouth goodness and it was full of flavor. The curry wasn’t really soupy either which I personally liked…it was possibly one of the best green curry dishes I’ve had.
Casual, fast dining Thai is the general gist of Crushcraft, but don’t let either of those words scare you. The food they’re making and presenting in Uptown Dallas is incredible, packed with classic Thai flavors and fresh ingredients. The interior look and feel of being at a Thai street market adds to the food experience, creating an overall cool and interesting vibe. With that prime location in the heart of Uptown, Crushcraft is certainly crushing it. 

Standard

Leave a comment